THE Top 10 Best Foods?

It’s Foodie Friday!

Since food makes up 80% of our physique, I thought that I should dedicate a whole day to the topic. Therefore, I will post food related concepts on Fridays from now on.

I have long been a huge fan of the great Natalie Butler of psychetruth (a channel on YouTube) fame. One only needs to read a few comments under each of her videos to know that most of the male population does as well.  She radiates youth and health and darn it, she knows a hell of a lot about food.  That is, she knows about foods/drinks that will make you look like her which may help us all radiate our own versions of youth and health.

I particularly love this video she made.  Granted, her videos are a bit on the older side, but I think most of them are still incredibly relevant today.  I mean, 2007 wasn’t that long ago. Here she is explaining to us what her idea of the top 10 healthiest foods are in her opinion:

So, to sum it up her list is:

10. Eggs (the whole egg; not just the whites, body-builders)

9.  Fermented Beverages

8. Goat’s Milk/Yogurt

7. Smart Water

6. Almonds & Walnuts

5. Extra Virgin Coconut & Olive Oils

4. Alaskan or Wild Caught Salmon

3. Dark Leafy Greens

2. Quinoa

1. Sprouted Grain Bread

How do I like this list?  Hmmmmm…..let’s see; I think overall the foods/drinks recommended are on the whole good for you and one would benefit to include them in a healthy diet.  However, I do have a slight problem with #9 Fermented Beverages.  I would have to alter that to Fermented Foods. You see, the process of fermentation requires sugar and often times in fermented commercial products there is a lot of  extra sugar added to mask the sour taste.  Essentially it boils down to drinking mostly sugar water which cancels out the good benefits of the pro-biotics created in the fermentation process.  So, I would prefer to eat sauerkraut or yogurt or even perhaps make my own home-made fermented pro-biotic supplement out of coconut water that has far less sugar than the store-brand varieties. You can even make your own yogurt if you are so inclined. Also, I have a slight beef with two other items, but this is a purely personal choice.  I simply despise the flavor/taste of goat’s milk-anything and quinoa.  I have tried people, I have tried.  It is not meant to be. But this does not mean that they are not power-house foods and should not be eaten.

So what about you?  Is this the ultimate list?  Do you live by a different one?  Share your thoughts so we all can benefit.

Leave a Reply

