Diet Plan

Today’s Foodie Friday Post:

I thought I would take the opportunity to share with you a diet that I am currently trying.  What’s that you say? “Don’t you know that DIETS FAIL!!!?” Actually, no I don’t know that, or rather I should say  I don’t agree with that idea. You see, I am of the belief that diets DO work, it’s people who don’t follow them correctly or consistently that make them “fail”.  Also, there is the consideration of choosing a diet that meets your metabolic needs correctly.  If a person is on a diet that eliminates major food groups (all carbs no matter what kind, for example),  I believe that this would be very difficult to maintain for the long-haul. And let’s face it, I’m in it for the long-haul and if a diet plan assumes that I will adopt an impractical way of eating for the rest of my life, I ain’t gonna do it at all.

Oh, and one other bit of info: the word DIET means what an organism eats.  It is a misnomer to call all diets DIETS.  What really should be said is “I am going on a lower calorie diet and changing the foods that I have been eating to other types of foods.” Then the criticism can begin such as “Why are you only eating cabbage soup for weeks on end again?” and “You really think eating all that bacon and steak is going to give you the body of your dreams?” Choosing the right lower calorie diet for those who wish to lose weight makes all the difference in whether it will work or not. That’s my speech and I’m stickin’ to it!

So, back to me. I read over the Thanksgiving weekend a book that I had seen laying around before in my parent’s house called the No Flour, No Sugar Diet by Dr. Peter H. Gott, M.D..  He was a columnist in nationally syndicated newspapers for quite some years. The column was called “Ask Dr. Gott.” I usually just walked right past it and thought “Hell NO!” about it.  But then it hit me: I have a real problem metabolizing sugar and flour is metabolized in the body like sugar. It makes sense, whole grains beaten to death and bleached and pulverized don’t take long to get digested in the body, even if it is 100% whole grain, as opposed to whole grain not turned into flour. Plus, most health experts and nutritionally minded folks would all agree across the board that sugar has become a huge evil in the American diet. It quite literally is in everything.

Dr. Gott's BookAnywhom, I liked it more and more as I read it and I devoured it in one sitting. It’s pretty simple, no sugar at all (not even honey or agave syrup) and nothing made with any type of flour.  I can have corn tortillas, rice, potatoes, tabouleh salad, oatmeal, sprouted grain bread/wraps etc, etc. You would think (as one of my friends dramatically acted out in front of me when I told her of this diet) that I would be dying the entire time to eat all the things I CAN’T have. But it’s funny, my gut tells me that constantly eating flour and sugar are what really create crazy cravings and not eating them eliminates the need to binge on them. Many diets allow some sugar and lots of flour on their plan. But when I eat a little, I end up craving a lot more later. Then the diet “fails” because I end up giving into the craving and going way over the calorie allowance.

I do know that I need to eat balanced meals and eat a diet rich in fruits and vegetables.  He explains this in the book, but I can see how one might interpret this title and concept as “I can eat french fries all day long!!!” So far, so good.  I am not hungry all through the day as I was before, and most of my meals are only 3/4 eaten because I simply get full before I am done.  I’ll keep going and fill you in later as to how it pans out.

What kind DIET are you on?

One thought on “Diet Plan

Leave a Reply

