2013 Resolutions

Hey all,

Today’s Thursday Post is a personal one.  I wanted to list publicly my hopes and dreams for the coming year so that I will stick to them when the going gets tough.  I’m not usually one to list a goal and not fulfill it too.  When I plan on accomplishing something, I usually do.  So New Year’s Resolutions usually work for me if I intend them into existence (I usually don’t). I just so happen to be one of those weird people that actually enjoys planning and organizing and setting goals big and small for myself.  What’s frustrating is that things don’t always come to fruition as quickly as I’d hoped, but that just tells me that I need to plan better for the next one.

So here they are, in no particular order of importance, as I see them equally important.

1. Lose the Remaining Weight

Losing-weight-naturallySo, I set a goal for myself last year to lose 26 pounds.  As of right now I have lost 7.  Life has been up and down for me this past year and there have been some really difficult moments.  I wanted to make sure that I didn’t let myself get too off-track with being healthy, fit and trim so I announced on YouTube that I would be publicly losing weight and sharing what worked and what didn’t with my viewers. About 10 videos in I decided to switch over to a blog because that seemed more interesting to me.  I will still make videos, but they won’t be as regular as blog posts. More to come later on how I will hold myself accountable to this goal.

2.  Financial Freedom

freedom-1024x494Yes I am one of the gazillion people in America that used the CC too much. Too be really honest, it is because I don’t have a job that sufficiently pays for all of my needs.  This has been an uphill battle for me for all of my adult life.  Being a musician / vocal professor is nice sounding, but it doesn’t always pay the bills, so to speak. There is a light on the horizon and I will be pursuing a different career very soon.  My singing will always be a part of me, but the income needs to change and fast.  I have already put into action a CC payment plan that I had been sticking quite nicely to; then darn old Christmas came up and I am back in the red. Onward and upward!!!

3. Art Appreciation

TGSE01346_mI not only am a singer, but I love art, culture and historical places/things. This year I plan to dedicate a day to venturing out of my cozy home to visit the vast arena of options that Los Angeles offers. It may be worth mentioning that I am also a ceramic artist and have always had a great love of visual art.

4. Creating More Structure, Organization, and Planning to Daily, Weekly, and Monthly Activities

dateBookBeing one who likes goals and achieving them, this one probably comes as no surprise.  The thing is, if I don’t plan out what I am going to do – NOTHING gets done; and I mean NOTHING.  There are so many projects, outings, restaurants, etc. etc. that I want to experience and it will only happen if I write in in the calendar.

P.S. I have already planned out every day of January, leaving room for spontaneity.

5. Read 3 Fictional Books

endless-booksI read a ton on Non-Fiction and never have room for the stuff of dreams.  Heck, I haven’t seen any Harry Potter movie because I want to read the books first.  Same goes for The Hunger Games.  Three may not be a big deal to some, but this is a realistic goal for me.

6. Design & Re-Decorate Bedroom

Ok, so the pix above maybe a little out of the budget of one who is seeking financial freedom. This goal is on a shoestring amount, but I’m a crafty cat.  The only problem I can foresee will be affording someone to paint the room, but I may be able to get someone to help me out with that one.

7. Find the Best Roast Chicken Recipe

roast chickenYum! I’m always on a culinary journey.  This year I want to find something that is healthy but also delicious and versatile.  Everyone needs roast chicken in their life! Oh, except if you are vegetarian or vegan….but WHATEVER!!!

Reaching GoalsSo what about you? Are you a resolutions kind of person?

 

Leave a Reply

