French Tips

Today’s Inspirational Sunday Post:

ParisWell, let’s just get it out of the way: I am a Francophile and make no apologies for it! I have no idea how that happened, but for the past few years most of my extra-curricular activities have centered around French things.  From books, to clothing, to eating and ways of living, I am immersed in the French way of life.  One of my favorite blogs to read is My French Country Home where a woman discusses in great detail how much she enjoys living in her massive French abode. I also love fashion and read a few blogs that center around French style.

But the super Frenchy thing I want to share with you all today is the latest book I read.  It’s called Lessons from Madame Chic written by Jennifer L. Scott (she has her own blog too) and has really inspired me to live the French way which includes eating well and staying slim.

lessons from madame chic book review giveaway

Some of the chapters include:

  • Snacking is So Not Chic
  • Deprive Yourself Not
  • Exercise is a Part of Life, Not a Chore
  • Look Presentable Always
  • Always Use the Best Things You Have
  • Practice the Art of Entertaining
  • Value Quality Above All
Jennifer L. Scott

Jennifer L. Scott

Dress Your Best Always

Dress Your Best Always

Don't Snack

Don’t Snack

Entertain!

Entertain!

So what exactly do I want to point out here that can help you?  After all, this isn’t a book report blog.  There are a couple of things I want to discuss that may help you stay motivated on your journey to health and well-being.

1. The French Eat Well

They eat very well in fact.  I’ve personally known a few French chefs.  They eat butter, sugar, wine, chocolate, white bread, etc. etc.  It is all the cliches you’ve heard of.  The difference between the French and Americans though is the portion sizes.  Now Jennifer really doesn’t discuss this in her book, but she isn’t approaching her subject from a weight-loss perspective. However, I have watched French people eat and they eat portions for one at every meal.  Think about it: I just went to an Italian restaurant and ordered a baked pasta dish.  I knew ordering such a thing was going to be calorie hell, but the portion size!!! I know how to eyeball a 1/2 cup of pasta (one portion) and this big boy had at least 4 servings swimming on the plate. Most people would not want to waste such a dish (it also cost about $25.00) and take it home.  So we eat as much as we can stuff down our gullets and pack up the rest.  The French don’t do doggie bags by the way. They think it’s gauche.

2. Always Dress to the 9’s and Use the Best That You Have

It’s not about being uncomfortable (one can dress beautifully and be comfortable) or prissy.  They want to use the best because it makes them feel good about themselves and about the world around them.  When you are wearing something snazzy, don’t people give you compliments and you feel great?  Well, why not do that all the time? It will make you feel better and you will look better while you are losing weight! Use your best plates, stemware, shoes, and clothes to make every day count.  Don’t just pull these things out for special occasions. Today is a special occasion – you’re alive! I always say: “Be the one who sets the bar and set it high.” Believe me, once I started doing this, I have felt better about my life. At least try it for one day.  She also has a chapter on only having 10 pieces of clothing in a wardrobe, so although that may not be realistic for you, having a few beautiful pieces to mix and match will make you look pulled together.

I highly recommend this book just for a fun read.  But it may also help you achieve a higher quality of life if you take what she says seriously and use it.

Unknown

Leave a Reply

