Be A Diva

Today’s Inspirational Sunday Post:

UnknownHello People! I want to share one of my favorite ways to stay motivated on the road to weight loss.  When I choose to use the resources that kick me in the butt to do better, I usually do. Now normally during the working part of my year (I am a college professor) I drive about 1 hour each way to my job and back home.  This puts a terrible toll on my energy level, my back muscles and my time because it causes me to cut out other important activities (read: exercise) to do it.  There is also a problem of my appetite being bigger due to the stress of driving (and I should note, I HATE to drive).  One of the tools I use while driving to and fro, to help keep me motivated to stay on the health and wellness track and also to use my time wisely, is to listen to podcasts on my iPod.

Today I want to focus on a short one, literally.  It’s called “The Nutrition Diva” and it is hosted_MG_0550 by former opera singer turned nutritionist: Monica Reinagel.  Her moniker is “Quick and dirty tips for eating well and feeling fabulous!”  The shows are approximately 7 minutes long, so I listen to about 3 or 4 at a time.  The information contained in the shows is packed with details so listening to more than 4 makes me unable to absorb what she is teaching.  I like to listen and then ponder on how the information pertains to me, sort of like a sermon at church.  Too much info, and it all gets lost.  Some of her show topics include:

  • Is Fruit Good For You?
  • Is Skipping Breakfast Bad For You?
  • Fish Oil and Omega-3 Fats
  • Herbs and Your Diet
  • Is Pasta A Diet Disaster?
  • Nitrates and Nitrites
  • Is Drinking Alcohol Good For Your Health?
  • Pass the Guacamole
  • Going Nuts
  • Olive You Most of the Time
  • High-Fructose Hysteria
  • A Spoonful of Honey

_MG_0552Needless to say, I love this show and I love her quick talking execution.  Her ways of speaking are clear and concise which makes me not have to rewind and re-listen to info that seemed murky.  Give it a try if you are iPod inclined.  The podcast is free and according to my records, she has 218 episodes to devour.  Try it! What have you got to lose…

Leave a Reply

