Supplements: B-Complex

Today’s Think It Through Thursday Post:

_MG_0558

Do you take vitamins and supplements?  Well I have heard that it is a waste of time and we should all be getting adequate nutrition from the foods we eat. But let’s face it, with all of the talk about food not being organic, soils being low quality that the food is grown in, processing foods stripping them of further nutrients, etc. etc. etc., it may be really necessary to really consider supplements as a daily habit.  I know that I have and I feel better for it.

The one supplement that has made the biggest impact on my health and well-being is B-Complex. Now, let it be known that I have experimented with isolating B vitamins and took them at different levels; this was a disaster and almost made me end up in the emergency room! So I have streamlined my efforts and just take an over the counter variety that the FDA approves of.  I am not yet skilled in the ways of health gurus who insist that only certain kinds of vitamins and their specific quantities should be taken in certain ways.  I am happy enough using the generic method. If you know of a great brand or type of B-Complex that we all could benefit from, let us know! And I will update this information when I am further educated.

Now what does B-Complex do for me? Well, mostly I can feel the energy boost it gives me.  I sense about 30 minutes after taking a pill (follow dosage correctly on packaging) that I am suddenly more awake but not in the coffee-jittery way.  Just a general – every cell in my body just woke up – way. After doing some light research on the subject here is what I found on B vitamins’ benefits:

  • Energy Production (turns carbos we eat into glucose)
  • Healthy Nervous System (this includes the brain)
  • Good Digestion (helps break down fats, carbs, and proteins)
  • Healthy Skin, Hair & Nails

Take B-Complex with water as that it how it is broken down in the body (water soluble). I also insist that you take it with some food as you can become nauseated if you don’t. Personally, I take the version that has 29 mg of Thiamin, 37 mg of Riboflavin, 24 mg of Niacin, 28 mg of B6, 100 mcg of Folic Acid, 30 mcg of Biotin and 30 mg of Pantothenic Acid.

Leave a Reply

