Super Food: Eggs

Today’s Foodie Friday Post:

Unknown

Unless you are a vegan, I don’t know what diet in the world doesn’t support the eating of awesome eggs! They are a tiny gem of nutritional importance.  Here is what the WebMD article that I have been quoting from lately has to say about them:

Eggs make the list because they are nutritious, versatile, economical, and a great way to fill up on quality protein. “Studies show if you eat eggs at breakfast, you may eat fewer calories during the day and lose weight without significantly affecting cholesterol levels,” says Elizabeth Ward, MS, RD, author of The Pocket Idiot’s Guide to the New Food Pyramids. Eggs also contain 12 vitamins and minerals, including choline, which is good for brain development and memory. Enjoy them at any meal or hard-cooked as a portable snack.”

That’s pretty much how I like them best, as a portable snack barely hard boiled. I put them in a pot of cold water, put the lid on and turn the heat to high. When I hear the water boiling, I remove the lid and let it simmer (turn down heat) for 4-5 minutes. Then I take them out and run them under cold water if I want to eat them immediately or let them sit on the counter and cool for a bit. Throw it in a baggie and then your lunch box and out the door.

I do have to admit that about at age 35 I unfortunately developed some weird digestion issues with all types of foods. Suddenly dairy, beans, cruciferous veggies and eggs became a bit hard on my G.I. tract. So, to counteract this problem, I only eat one egg at a time and I must have it with other types of foods to help aid in digestion. Too much info? Just thought you might want to know if it starts happening to you. It sucks that as you age these things happen, but what can I say about that? Perhaps I should share my homemade pro-biotic made from NO DAIRY.

Here are some other ways I enjoy eggs in the morning:

MASALA OMELETTE  on TOAST   (adapted from the cookbook: Nigella Bites)
_MG_0683

Ingredients: 1 tsp vegetable oil; 1 scallion, sliced finely; 1-2 chilies to taste, red or green; 1/2 – 1 clove garlic, finely chopped or grated; 1/4 tsp turmeric, 1 tsp ground coriander; 1 tsp ground cumin; 2 -3 eggs, beaten; freshly chopped cilantro for sprinkling over; toast, 1 oz. asiago cheese

Heat the oil in a frying pan; sauté the scallion, chilies and garlic for a few minutes until soft; add the spices to activate in the oil about 30 seconds; add the beaten eggs and gently stir with a rubber spatula; turn out onto a cutting board and slice according to how much you want (or have the whole thing!); meanwhile toast bread and then under broiler, melt cheese; place omelette on top and sprinkle with cilantro. Serves 1

_MG_0685

FRIED EGG on TOAST with AVOCADO & CANADIAN BACON

_MG_0687

Ingredients: 1 slice sourdough bread; 1/4 – 1/2 avocado sliced, 2 slice canadian bacon, 1 egg, 1 tsp butter

Toast bread; heat a small pan with no oil, add canadian bacon and dry fry for about 2 minutes flipping over halfway through; remove from pan when heated;  add butter to pan and fry egg sunny side up; spread avocado on toast, layer with bacon and then egg. Serves 1 (You can substitute hummus for avocado which I think is even better!)

Leave a Reply

