The French Paradox

Think It Through Thursday: The French Paradox (Part One)

Unknown

I just have to talk about this subject.  It has greatly inspired me.  Many people have heard of The French Paradox, but now I get it a little bit more.  Let me explain.

Lately I have been immersed in the French way of thinking, be it food, dress, decor, philosophy etc.  It’s just a pastime to admire a culture more chic than what I experience on a day-to-day basis, but it really became attractive to me after reading Losing It in France by Sally Asher.  She comes from Australia and has lived in theUnknown-2 U.S. as well.  Sally understood emotional eating and the American (Standard American Diet) way of eating very well.  Then she became familiar with the French concept of eating and approaching food by becoming friendly with some French people and then living in Paris.  Mostly, it seems to be about really paying acute attention to every morsel that goes into one’s mouth.  I’m not talking about measuring or portioning, or being careful about how many calories it has.  I mean that she talks extensively about images-5tasting food, REALLY tasting your food when you eat it.  It suddenly made perfect sense to me. This book should be required reading in junior high schools across the nation.

I am one of those Americans that would eat my breakfast in the car on the way to work hoping and praying that nothing would drip/squirt/spill on to my clothes.  Coffee too.  I had a disaster once.  I had to wear that shame all day and I felt like an idiot.  I also LOVE me some processed treats. (Helloooo chocolate covered marshmallows!) I usually just cram them in as fast as I can because I’m so happy to eat them.  Right before the last bite I’m sad because it will be over all too soon and I’ve already forgotten how good the previous bites were.  I’m also guilty of  preparing too many grocery store heat-and-eat foods.  Although, I do try to buy the least chemicallyimages-4 produced versions. But I must admit to being super lazy sometimes and I just don’t have the energy to shop/prep/cook/clean up after a proper cook-from-scratch meal.  Take-out food (which is different from the latter) is a treat and I don’t usually depend on that for my daily nutritional needs.  These are just a few examples of not really being present or caring about my food/meals, much less fully experiencing it’s taste; there are many more.  I also have timed myself eating a typical meal on several occasions.  The average length is 10 minutes.  Welp, this type of eating fiasco is simply taught against in Sally’s book.

I’ll have to do a full review of her book in another post, but from her viewpoint, as well as others’ that I have read, I have decided to eat more like a French person – complete with cheese course, wine, dessert and all baby.  “WHAT!???” I can hear someone say, “This is supposed to be a diet blog!” Yeah, well, diets ain’t workin’ for me anymore.  I’m tired of eating “diet” food.  Sick of plain rice and vegetables.  Want to puke on dry, un-sauced chicken breasts. Will scream if I ever eat a salad with no dressing on it again. May have a tantrum if I keep having to buy boring sprouted bread that tastes like sawdust gone stale. I’m ready to throw my Laughing Cow cheese out the window……  Nope, no more! Here’s the new plan:

To Be Continued in the Next Post……

Leave a Reply

