Pay It Forward

Inspirational Sunday: Pay It Forward

Hello People!

Happy Easter Eve if you celebrate it.  I was thinking of posting a few thoughts I have on why I started this blog.  You see, it all started with a certain 16-year-old that I’ve never met before, and probably never will.

I really love to watch YouTube if you haven’t noticed.  I am a real junkie and don’t even watch T.V. anymore because of it and Netflix.  Anyways, I was on YouTube looking for dance workouts, specifically ballet, and came across a channel that featured the workouts designed by the people who trained Natalie Portman in Black Swan. Those were rigorous training circuits she went through to achieve a “dancer’s body” in such a short period of time. I knew that one could buy the program, but it is super expensive.  Then, lo and behold, there it was on a certain YouTube channel, uploaded by a sweet unassuming teenager. (If you know anything about uploading to YouTube, you are strictly forbidden to upload anything that you did not create yourself 100%).  She got away with it mostly because the workouts are awesome and she was demonstrating them herself; actually doing them in real time.  The workouts were brutal, but just what I wanted.

In the description box she had listed her blog link.  Now I had been reading a few blogs at this time.  Mostly they centered around fashion and makeup, but I wanted to check out her blog to see what else she had up her sleeve in regards to exercise and nutrition. I clicked on it and immediately was taken to a site that flashed high-def pictures of super models, one right after the other at the top of the blog page.  All of the pictures were of the same body types -very tall, and THIN-THIN-THIN! No muscle tone or workout gear involved.  Just a bunch of thin twigs standing around (no faces, interestingly).

As I read through her description page and started reading her posts, I realized that she was after the model-thin physique and would do anything to get it.  She talked about models she obsessed over, models she had zillions of pictures of, and models that had her “ideal body shape.” She also addressed the critics and said that this was her goal and if you don’t like it, you can take your comments elsewhere.  She herself was not an overweight person. She was average build, average height (taller than me), and pretty “thin” for my standards.  To think that she wanted to thin down even more made me a bit queazy.  I also noticed in her tag lines, the words “thinspo, thinspiration, pro-ana, and anorexia” appeared, despite many posts written insisting that her hopes were to inspire girls her age to eat healthfully and exercise appropriately. Her mantra was to get thin the healthy way not resorting to “extreme diets or anorexia.”  She posted pictures of food she ate, and it looked well balanced and healthy, just like she was pro-porting.  Her exercise routines, however, were rigorous at least, grueling at worst, again at least by my standards. Her tone was upbeat and extremely positive.  You should have seen her responses to her subs.  Always so supportive and encouraging. She had hundreds of subscribers, all very vocal and grateful.  They told her that she was their inspiration and how happy she was there to post almost everyday to keep them on track.

When I stumbled upon this blog, it was about late October of last year (2012). I had noticed that she posted a flurry of posts, sometimes 4 in day in  June and July, when it started; almost everyday in August, and only about 5 in Sept.  Then, nothing.  Also, her YouTube videos suddenly vanished with that irritating unhappy face looking at you when you want to watch a video and it has been yanked off the airwaves.  Who knows what happened. I kept checking her channel and her blog everyday to see if she had updated about anything and it was a complete void. A bit disappointing, I must say since I had just discovered it and they were both in some odd way inspirational to me too, but also intriguing.

It got me thinking, how desperate people are for inspiration to keep their goals going (specifically me).  I started looking around for other blogs like hers or in-the-vein-of, but wasn’t really coming up with anything I liked.  Most of the blogs I read were of people who had already accomplished their goals 3 years ago and were just hanging on continuing to write because of their 50,000 subs paying their bills for the rest of their life. (Not bitter, no, not me.) Or the blogs were pathetic and ridiculously un-inspirational. So, what does one do when you can’t find what you are looking for? You make it yourself and you do the best job you know how to do.  That was my intention and it will continue to be so.  Wherever 16seekingskinny is, I hope she is well and not doing anything damaging to herself; because despite her short stint on the blog scene, she did inspire at least one person to keep going and giving back to also help others just like her.

Leave a Reply

