Who Is Right?

Think It Through Thursday:

Who Really Has the “Answer” to Weight Loss?

Unknown-3

Hello People,

I have been really researching health and wellness earnestly the last few days just because I’ve had a sudden urge to discover more, and I am hitting a wall over all of the contradictory information being presented by BIG names in health and fitness.  I mean, who is right in the department of: “I have the answer to your weight loss problems!”? They all have the “answer,” and those answers contradict each other in huge ways that only leave me confounded and not wanting to eat anything or ever exercise again.

Case in point: I am hearing by leaps and bounds from the Paleo/Atkins/The Zone type crowd (not all of them strictly Paleo, but anyone and everyone who believes we should be eating all full-fat proteins, saturated fats, and vegetables – eliminating all grains, dairy and fruit) how ESSENTIAL eating full-fat meat, like steak and pork chopsimages-1 is to our endocrine system.  It has little/no effect on raising blood sugar (yay!) which is the sole reason we are all too fat, and is NOT the reason why arteries clog or diabetes, heart disease, high cholesterol, etc, etc… happens.  Then, I get in the mail one of my favorite health publications, one I really trust, and on the cover it says “Why Red Meat is Dangerous! New Research Shows that Carnitine in Meat is Bad for Your Health.” And this is just one example out of many. Both parties have extensive scientific research to back them up.  Both are completely believable. Both have valid points to consider.  Then, there is the consideration of how my gut feels about all of this back and forth.

images-7

Maybe they do have the answer, but only for some people. I’ve tried eliminating grains from my diet and frankly, it doesn’t work for me.  Not because I want the sugar or I need a carb fix, I really need some whole carbohydrate in each of my meals to feel satisfied and full.  My brain does not work without them – really!  I’m talking within reason too, like a 1/2 cup of a starchy carb such as beans or brown rice.  Nothing crazy. I do not feel right eating a meal of only meat and a pile of veg.  I could eat that all day and feel miserable.  I know some of you reading this know what I mean.  This doesn’t apply to everyone though.  Some, like my Dad, are perfectly fine eating a meal like that.  They even thrive!  Good for them – but don’t push your Dogma on me just because it works for you.

images-8

The real irony of the situation is, once you stop to think about what is really going on here, is that every one of these people, no matter how educated and important they are, are trying to SELL YOU SOMETHING!  Sure, once upon a time they may have been mere individuals, like me, on a quest for real answers to health and well being.  Their research was honest and hard-earned.  They deserve their credentials.  No doubt about it. They may in fact really believe (and I know they do) that their research is right.  But then, it dawned on them that they could make a buck or two “educating the masses.” They go under holistic titles and claim they are against the Big Food Industry who they say over and over again are only out to make money off of consumers.  Let’s face it: Big Pharma, Monsanto, The Meat Industry – are. But…aren’t these people in it for a little piece of the pie too?  Don’t get me wrong, I love hearing what the rogue health community is talking about and 90% of it applies to me as real truth that is completely useful.  But as far as the “I have the answer to all of your health/fitness/emotional-mental problems” is concerned – I don’t completely agree with any of them.  Paul Chek comes the closest, but even he has concepts that I think are full blown incorrect.

Unknown-4

You may be wondering why I would be so bold to say they are wrong?  I mean, who the hell am I to argue?  I don’t have any credentials or Books/T.V./magazine/newspaper/Documentaries behind me touting my validity.  Because of my own body telling me in a real physical way that what they say doesn’t entirely work for me.  Therefore, I must find what does and perhaps it may come down to hand-picking from multiple sources what my beliefs about health and wellness are.  Then I’ll write a book and make lots of money telling people that “I have the answer to all of your health and fitness problems!” JK.

3 thoughts on “Who Is Right?

  1. Great post!
    I have the same difficulty as you, there is so much contradictory information about health and wellness out there that it’s nearly impossible to know what to believe. I really think that the problem is that every one is different…what works for your body may not work for mine. So like you said, we each have to painstakingly sort through all the information out there to find what works for each of us rather than strictly adhering to one type of diet or lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

