Workout Routine

Exercise Monday : Current Workout Routine (Past)

Hey People!

Here with a update on what I am doing to workout.  I change my workouts faster than underwear, well, not really, but almost as fast.  It’s just that I get bored REAL easily.  Not sure what I was doing the last time I posted about exercise, but I usually rotate through things I enjoy.  That is really the key to keeping up with exercise.  You must make it fun (new) and do things your body likes and doesn’t fight.  I know for me, climbing rock/mountains is not an enjoyable act.  So, I’m most unlikely not going to do that activity.  I do enjoy the rowing machine, so perhaps canoeing or kayaking might be fun to try at some point.

In the latest October edition of Shape Magazine it has a little 1-pager on a running program (plus 3 pages devoted to a strength training set).  The article teaser is in the largest font on the front cover: “DROP TWO SIZES! In Just 4 Weeks”  I love how that’s put.  It’s Unknownso…..convincing. We’ll see, right?  Anyways, it talks about increasing your run/jog a little at a time but unlike the other running program I have done it doesn’t go as long, only about 20-30 minutes of total time.  I add a warm-up and cool down, so it lengthens the workout, but that’s my preference.  It seems to be easier and more enjoyable than the other program to my body.

I also supplement with some kickboxing on days I am told to “Cross-Train” and do the strength training workout plans suggested in the magazine, rotating through the three total plans that they have (different ones).  I must say that the plan for those who wear high heels seemed easy as pie doing it, but MAN – the day after I was sore!  Don’t underestimate these programs put together by professionals.  The only caveat is that you must do things with excellent form or you may not be doing the exercise right.  Therefore, I try to do the workouts in front of a mirror to make sure I look like the pictures suggest.

Also, I have been going to a Yoga studio.  I think it is amazing and if you have been on the fence about really going to a proper yoga class, you should definitely go!  It is anything but easy.  And depending on what the instructor has planned for each class, you will feel it the next day.  It is strength training for sure!  Unfortunately, I have carpel tunnel syndrome in my right wrist and even with a brace, I was in pain half-way through.  If this was not the case, I would definitely continue.  However, I don’t want to strain and ruin a part of my body that I really need for the rest of my life (I am right-handed).  Otherwise, I would gladly pay the $15.00 for each class because it is so worth it.  For now, I will continue with my easy DVD yoga practices.  YouTube has some nice routines too if you are interested.

So that’s it for now!  What are you doing?

Leave a Reply

